Warhorses and Arabians honored at annual DABC sports banquet

Chesney Friesenhahn was named Outstanding Senior Arabian Athlete, Volleyball Co-MVP, and Basketball Co-MVP. For more photos, see the May 30 edition of The Devine News.
Connor Schmidt was named Outstanding Senior Warhorse Athlete, Basketball Co-MVP, and Baseball MVP. For more photos, see the May 30 edition of The Devine News.

The Devine Athletic Booster Club put on its annual sports banquet last Wednesday in the Devine High School gymnasium. Good food, good speeches, and great kids receiving recognition for sports seasons well done.
Arabian Golf: MVP—Kayla Busby.
Warhorse Golf: MVP—Carson Tilley.
Cross Country: Newcomer of the Year—Brianna Bernal; Heart of a Champion—Victoria Gonzales; Warhorse Most Valuable Runner—Colin Rogers; Arabian Most Valuable Runner—Brooke Runyan.
Arabian Powerlifting: Most Valuable Lifter—Jessie Ramirez; Iron Woman—Journey Shoemake; Most Improved—Khali Key; Heart of a Champion—Zaylee Zimmerle.
Warhorse Powerlifting: Most Valuable Lifters—Steven Ramirez, Lucas Byrd; Iron Man—Christian Arredondo; Most Improved—Kaleb Zertuche.
Warhorse football: Overall MVP—Matt Ornelas; Offensive MVP—Grant Collins; Defensive MVPs—Payton Anderson, Steven Ramirez; Fighting Heart Award—Noah Brogdon; Most Valuable Special Teams Player—Luke Torres; Most Improved—Chase Dubose; Outstanding Offensive Linemen—Christian Arredondo, Marques Burford-Zawahreh; Outstanding Tight End—Jayce Hackebeil; Outstanding Back—Connor Schmidt; Outstanding Wide Receiver—Kyler Brown; Outstanding Defensive Tackles—Tristan Ortiz, Reagan Brown; Outstanding Linebacker—Hayden Burwell; Outstanding Defensive Back—Justin Contreras; Outstanding Defensive End—Juan Sic.
Arabian Softball: MVP—Taylor Carr; Offensive MVP—Kendall Arche; Defensive MVP—Jeanette Rios; Newcomer of the Year—Allyson Taylor; Gold Glove Infield—Halle Hagdorn; Gold Glove Outfield—Megan Runyan; Leadership Award—Jessie Ramirez.
Warhorse Baseball: MVP—Connor Schmidt; Gold Glove—Jerrod Taylor; Charlie Hustle—Matt Ornelas; Gold Slugger—Newt Crouch.
Arabian Basketball: MVPs—Chesney Friesenhahn, Preslee Quisenberry; Offensive MVP—Lily Stricker; Defensive MVP—Abigail Whitaker.
Arabian Team Tennis: MVP—Lindsey Spannagel.
Warhorse Team Tennis: MVP—Ralph Rios
Arabian Tennis: MVP—Brooke Runyan; “Heart & Hustle” Award—Preslee Quisenberry; Leadership Award—Lindsey Spannagel.
Warhorse Tennis: Co-MVPs—Ralph Rios; Jake Harrell.
Volleyball: Tri-MVPs—Addie Trojanowski, Makenna Morales, Chesney Friesenhahn; Heart of an Arabian—Caimee Fowler.
Warhorse Basketball: Offensive MVP—Connor Schmidt; Defensive MVP—Jacob Oyola; Mr. Dependable—Daniel Ramirez.
Warhorse Track: Elite—Guido Zapata; MVP—Luke Torres; Gatorade Will to Win—Jayce Hackebeil; Newcomer—Xsavior Martinez.
Arabian Track: MVP—Sydney Rendon; Gatorade Will to Win—Alissa Stehle; Newcomers of the Year—Brooke Runyan, Mackenzie Schneider.
Warhorse Student Fan of the Year: Brody Poppe.
Arabian Student Fan of the Year: Brady Cardenas.
Warhorse Adult Fan of the Year: Bob Mangold.
Arabian Adult Fan of the Year: George Morales.
Essence of Arabian: Abigail Whitaker, Sydney Rendon.
Heart of a Warhorse: Steven “Bulldog” Ramirez.
Outstanding Senior Arabian Athlete: Chesney Friesenhahn.
Outstanding Senior Warhorse Athlete: Connor Schmidt.
By Jerel Beaty
Staff Writer