Another successful Friendship Art Club Show & Sale

Student Best of Show: Maggie May Jimmie, Lytle Junior High School.

The Annual Art Show and Sale was full of surprises! The show is sponsored by the Friendship Art Club and includes a student show. Eight local high schools and junior high schools participate.
A new feature, the People’s Choice Award, proved a success. Visitors were invited to choose among various art works throughout the show, and cast a ballot for their favorite. The People’s Choice Award this year went to Lindy Wheeler and her dramatic abstract elephant portrait. Lindy’s elephant also received a first place in its division of competition.
The day was bright and sunny and the crowd ready to enjoy. San Antonio artist Gerardo “Ghost” Cazare, demonstrated his unique technique in oil as visitors browsed through twenty two colorful booths. Local artist Walter Sprague painted in acrylics and decorated old saw blades. The Student Exhibit filled one wall and the artist competition was displayed on the stage. Results are as follows:
Best of Show: James Abernathy

Best of Show: Jim Abernathy.

Still life/floral: 1st place, Linda Bendele. Scenic: 1st place, Liz Bendele; 2nd place, Dale Andrews; 3rd place, James Abernathy. Judges Merit: Shirly Frisenhahn, Dee Thompson, Mary Killough and Liz Bendele. Animals: 1st place, Jim Abernathy; 2nd place, Roberta Andrews; 3rd place, Roberta Andrews. Portraits/People: 1st place, Linda Bendele; 2nd place, Linda Keller; 3rd place; Linda Keller. Abstract/Experimental: 1st place, Lindy Wheeler; 2nd place, Robert Fraga; 3rd place Linda Bendele. Photography: 1st place, Stephanie Suarez; 2nd place, Barbara Kelly, 3rd place, Rosemary Jones. Three Dimensional: James Schendel.
The Student Art Show provides an opportunity for local schools to display outstanding work. The overall judging was filled with pleasant surprises. The Best of Show was presented to Lytle Junior High School student, Maggie May Jimmie. This is the first time Best of Show has been awarded to a junior high school student.
Community Excellence Awards went to Lytle Junior High School and to Natalia High School. These awards are based on a points system which reflects the overall performance of the school. The awards may change from school to school, depending on their performance each year.
In the overall judging, Best of Show indicates the overall winner. Group awards reflect the top three winners of all junior high school entries and the top three winners of all high school entries. Other winners are in each category of competition. Awards were as follows:
Lytle Junior High School: Marley Walker, 1st in group; Klarrissa Martinez, 3rd in group; Yarley Rocha, 1st place; Daniel Esposa-Franklin, 2nd place; Alexandra Cabrera, 2nd place.

Marley Walker: 1st in group, Lytle Junior High School.

Natalia Junior High School: Candis Corona, 2nd in group; Rudy Rodriguez, 1stplace; Jasmine DelToro, 2nd place; Billy Curtis, 2nd place; Jacob Salinas, 2nd place; Isaiah Maynard, 3rd place;
Devine Middle School: Melanie Zelnick, 2nd place; Madeline Hern, 3rd place, Kisha Dunn, 3rd place.
Natalia High School: Jaqueline Rivera, 1st in group; Jesus Tapia, 3rd in group. Naomi Vasquez, 1st place; Jazmin Corona, 2nd place; Adam Cervantes, 3rd place; Kisha Dunn, 3rd place.

Jacqueline Rivera: 1st in group, Natalia High School.

Lytle High School: Marie Sewell, 2nd in group; Lorena Vasquez 1st place; Sylvia Martinez, 2nd place; Leyla Escalante, 2nd place; Cami Carrillo, 3rd place; Royce Tolbert, 3rd place.
Devine High School: Clarissa Ybanez, 1st place; Andy Cordova, 1st place. Madalyn Zamorano, 2ndplace; Bethany Dominguez, 2nd place.
The Friendship Art Club thanks all the communities for helping to make this event such a success. From contributions to the raffle for our scholarships, participating artists, to the principals and teachers who take the extra time to encourage students, hospitality and especially to the cleanup crew! A special thank you to our competition judge, George Rodriguez, from Jerry’s ArtARama in San Antonio. Also to Jane Brown, chairwoman of the show; Liz Bendele, Raffle Chairwoman; Dale Andrews, chairman of the Student Art Show and to Sally Lewis, club president. Many people work to keep these wheels turning and to each of you, thank you!