Soward re-elected Atascosa County Sheriff

Atascosa County Sheriff David Soward won another term by defeating challenger Rick Luna in the November 3 General Election.
Soward received 9,672 votes to Luna’s 8,325, besting Luna by 1,347 votes.
In other Atascosa County races, Precinct 1 County Commissioner Mark Gillespie was re-elected with 2,616 votes, beating opponent David Cabellero’s 1,392 votes.
Precinct 3 Constable Cregg M. Thompson was also re-elected, receiving 2,441 votes to challenger Armando “Mando” Vidales’s 1,793 votes.
The results of uncontested races in the county are as follows: County Attorney Lucinda A. Vickers, 16,052 votes; County Tax Assessor-Collector Loretta Holley, 16,198 votes; County Commissioner Pct. 3 Eliseo Perez, 3,688 votes; Constable Pct. 1 Miguel “Mike” Mares Jr., 3,514 votes; Constable Pct. 2 Edward “Ed” Richter, 3,930 votes; and Constable Pct. 4 William “Bill” Meadows, 4,852 votes.
According to the county’s Nov. 4 election summary, a total of 18,202 votes were cast, which includes 1,560 early votes by mail, 13,281 early votes cast in person, and 3,361 votes cast on Election Day.
Results are unofficial until votes are canvassed, which can take place no later than 11 days after the election.
By Marly Davis
Staff Writer

Zoom in to check out these deals or click for more from Chaparral Ford!