Warhorses nab 26 All-District spots

Coming off a District 14-4A D2 Tri-Championship, plenty of All-District recognition for Devine Warhorse football players rolled in this past week. Seventeen different players seized 26 spots on the first, second, or honorable mention teams.
Leading the way was Quentin “Guido” Zapata who was voted the District Offensive MVP, the lone superlative for the bi-district finalist Warhorses. Chad Lawson garnered three spots including 1st Team Quarterback, 1st Team Punter, and Honorable Mention Outside Linebacker.
First Team Offense recognition was awarded to Donavon Camacho (Running Back), Jayce Hackebeil (Tight End-Unanimous), Isaiah Oropeza (Wide Receiver-Unanimous), Jesus Hernandez (Guard-Unanimous), and John Schnautz (Tackle).
Second Team Offense went to Tristan Ortiz (Center), Brady Cardenas (Wide Receiver), and Mason Perez (Tackle).
Tight ends Christian Gerlach and Zachariuh Bocanegra received Honorable Mention at their position.
Defensively, Tristan Ortiz (Nose Tackle) and Hackebeil (Defensive End) were unanimous selections followed by fellow 1st Team picks Cardenas (Outside Linebacker), Joey Seguin (Cornerback), and Oropeza (Safety).
Second Team accolades went to Schnautz (Tackle), Gerlach (End), Sergio Martinez (Inside Linebacker), and Demetrios Monreal (Outside Linebacker).
Honorable Mention distinction was bestowed upon Bocanegra (End), Tristan Kannard (Tackle), Blaine Miller (Outside Linebacker), and Lawson (Outside Linebacker).
Congratulations Warhorses on your well-deserved recognition.
By Jerel Beaty
Staff Writer