Three Atascosa County races headed to Run-Off

Three races in Atascosa County are heading to a Run-Off Election after candidates failed to secure over 50 percent of the votes in their races in the Primary Election held last Tuesday, March 1.
Unless a candidate earns 50 percent-plus-one of the votes in a Primary election, the two candidates advance to a run-off election.
The Primary Run-Off Election is scheduled for Tuesday, May 24.
Races heading to the Run-Off include the Republican candidates for County Judge, Weldon P. Cude and Camila Chapa Mares. Cude received 2,098 votes (46%) to Mares’s 1,576 (35%). The winner of the Run-Off will face Democratic nominee Dustin Delgado in November’s General Election.
Republican candidates Justice of the Peace Precinct 4, Rusty Prasifka and Robert M. Evans, are also set for the Run-Off. Prasifka garnered 678 votes (41%) while Evans received 566 (35%).
Additionally, Jennifer Ebrom Dillingham and Trent Rowell will face off for the position of 81st District Judge, which includes Atascosa, Frio, Karnes, La Salle, and Wilson counties. Dillingham led the way overall with 5,744 votes (42.5%), followed by Rowell with 5,229 (38.7%), though Rowell won Atascosa County with 1,628 votes to Dillingham’s 1,552.

Click or tap for more Ford Truck Month deals from Chaparral Ford!

Republic Primary results
County Clerk – Theresa Carrasco received 3,123 votes to defeat Jeremy Fernandez, who received 1,077.
County Commissioner Pct. 2 – Challenger Mark Bowen defeated incumbent Stuart Knowlton 483 votes to 289. Bowen will take on Democratic nominee Vickie Eckert in the General Election.
County Commissioner Pct. 4 – Incumbent Kennard “Bubba” Riley retains his seat after defeating challenger Ernest Miller 929 votes to 733.
Justice of the Peace Pct. 2 – Wayne S. Vaughn received 426 votes to defeat Marian Knowlton, who received 357 votes.
Justice of the Peace Pct. 3 – Willie Leal, Jr. defeated Brenda Ana Arreola 894 votes to 287. Leal Jr. will face Democratic incumbent Orlando Carrasco in the General Election.
Other candidates who were elected unopposed include Bob Brendel, County Court at Law Judge (3,714 votes); Margaret E. Littleton, District Clerk (3,743 votes); Laura Pawelek, County Treasurer (3,896 votes); Felix Herrera III, Justice of the Peace Pct. 1 (682 votes); and Robert Duncan, Republican County Chair (3,615 votes).
Democratic Primary results
All the Democratic candidates in the Primary Election ran unopposed.
County Judge – Dustin Delgado, 1,142 votes
County Commissioner Pct. 2 – Vickie Eckert, 269 votes
Justice of the Peace Pct. 2 – Charles Urbina Jones, 200 votes
Justice of the Peace Pct. 3 – Orlando Carrasco, 389 votes
Democratic County Chair – Julie Hilberg, 1,072 votes
All election results are unofficial until the votes are canvassed by Commissioner’s Court.
By Marly Davis
Staff Writer