“HOW ABOUT THAT!”; Lady Pirate XC tops #6 ranked Poth 28-30 for District Championship

Lytle Head Coach Gilbert Ruiz was undoubtedly and deservedly excited when he sent out his mass email to Lytle ISD personnel after his Lady Pirate Cross Country team topped #6 state ranked Poth at last week’s District 27-3A Championships in Poth.
“HOW ABOUT THAT!” could not have been more fitting as Coach Ruiz has looked forward to his team’s showdown against Poth for quite some time. Lytle’s last trip to Poth for a regular season invitational was canceled due to inclement weather.
“We beat the #6 team in the state (Poth) by two points without our #1 runner Eisabel Guerrero in a close, competitive race. Great job girls! Two more to go!!!! Making History!” was Ruiz’s initial recap on his team’s exciting, championship day in Poth.
This championship also marks back-to-back district championships for the Lady Pirates, and they are shooting for their first top four State-Qualifying finish at Regional in Corpus on Monday, October 25. According to Ruiz, the best finish the Lady Pirates have achieved at Regional is 8th place.

Check out these deals and click or tap for more from Chaparral Ford!

“They continue to make us proud as they had a great second mile to overcome Poth’s aggressive start. Moriah Gomez set a personal record and it couldn’t have come at a better time. Both she and Natalie Williams had huge races to overcome the void of not having Eisabel. It was a huge confidence booster, and it happened at a perfect time, heading into regionals. We hope to have all seven girls running together for the first time all year next Monday,” Ruiz later stated.
Team rankings
1st Lytle 28, 2nd Poth 30, 3rd Poteet 100, 4th Jourdanton 101. 5th Karnes City 110.
Top 15
1st Addison Ellis-Poth 12:36, 2nd Moriah Gomez-Lytle 13:03, 3rd Samantha Mujica 13:09, 4th Marissa Lopez-Lytle 13:14, 5th Aldyn Johnson-Poth 13:18, 6th Natalie Williams-Lytle 13:30, 8th Caitlyn Jalufka-Poth, 9th Keira McKinney-Poth, 10th-Audrey Felux-Poth 13:52, 11th Kora Rocha-Poth 14:00, 12th Jadyn Jupe-Jourdanton 14:02, 13th Alania Nethken-Poteet 14:12, 14th Dezmarie Ortega-Lytle 14:17, 15th Jadyn Bojorquez-Lytle 14:23.
By Jerel Beaty
Staff Writer