DExSTA to award six $1,000 scholarships to DHS seniors

Seated, starting from the front left: New Board members – Mary Ambriz Castellano ’69 & Neva Muennink Saathoff ’69; Honor Class Representatives from the Class of 1970 – Russell Roberson, Russell Ehlinger, Ruthie Griffin Smith, Rick Smith; and Parliamentarian Karen Howard Muennink ’76. Standing left to right: Sharon Crouch Jasik ’67, Secretary Katie Keilman Shults ’71, President Nancy Ehlinger Saathoff ’75, Jeff Wisenbaker ’75, Sandy Wilkinson Beck ’72, Wendy Carr ex-Teacher, and Connie Clawson Nixon ’77. (Not pictured: Susan Rackley Schott ’72 and Stanley Ehlinger ’77).

Applications are available NOW at the DHS office, with a DEADLINE of March 6th!
The Board of Directors of the Devine Ex-Students/Teachers Association (DExSTA) is proud to announce that SIX $1000 scholarships will be awarded this year to 6 graduating seniors! In addition to the four Angie Griffin Heyen Memorial Scholarships, there are two additional “GIVE BACK” Scholarships from the DHS CLASS of 1969 in honor of their 50th Reunion last fall and appreciation of their alma mater!
These special scholarships are for 2020 Graduating DHS Seniors who have at least one parent who was a graduate of DHS, or a current or former teacher or administrator of DISD. *Other requirements are outlined on the application. Seniors are encouraged to get their applications at the DHS office soon to meet the deadline of March 6th.
These scholarships are only possible by the membership dues and scholarship donations made to DExSTA from former students and teachers. If you are a member already, thank you for doing your part to help out students at your alma mater. If you are not a member, and would like to be, or learn more about DExSTA, contact Nancy Saathoff at or 210-289-6205. *You can also check out our Facebook page for the Devine Ex-Students/Teachers Association for photos from past Homecoming events, and other school-days pictures.We always look forward to welcoming new members and renewing our Devine spirit!