Good luck at State UIL Solo & Ensemble Contest to soloists Calame, Martin, and Mohr and percussion ensemble (8 piece)

DHS Warhorse Band Students will compete in the UIL State Solo & Ensemble Contest this week.
Three soloists, Pauline Calame (Marimba Solo), Madilynne Mohr (Clarinet Solo) and Caleb Martin (Snare Solo)
advanced to State.
Also competing at State this week as well is the Percussion Ensemble made of 8 percussionists led by senior Pauline Calame, her third ensemble to lead to State back to back last 3 years. They are: Andrea Sanchez (2 year State Qualifer), Caleb Martin (3 year State Qualifier), Andrew Kohlleppel, Brent Wilcox, Analea Brooks (2 year State Qualifer), Aaron Salazar, Michael Cubriel (2 year State Qualifer) and Pauline Calame (3 year State Qualifer).
Madilynne Mohr is a 3 year State Qualifier.
The UIL State Solo & Ensemble Contest is being hosted this year online through video recordings. Due to Covid the students had to record their music and submit it online instead of getting to go to Austin to perform live in front of the judges like normal.

Madilyn Mohr
Pauline Calame
Caleb Martin

They qualified at the Region 11 UIL Solo & Ensemble Contest several months ago by earning a Division 1 on a Class One Solo or Ensemble advancing them to State!
Madilynne Mohr: Class One Clarinet Solo “Rhapsody for Clarinet” by Osborne, Advanced to State
Pauline Calame: Class One Mallet Solo “Morning Light” by Ford, Advanced to State
Caleb Martin: Class One Snare Solo”The Winner”by Markovich, Advanced to State
Percussion Ensemble, Class One “Root Beer Rag” arr by Steinquest, Advanced to State, Pauline Calame (Leader/Xylophone), Andrea Sanchez (Marimba), Caleb Martin (Drumset), Andrew Kohlleppel (Marimba), Brent Wilcox (Vibes), Analea Brooks (Marimba), Aaron Salazar (Marimba), & Michael Cubriel (Bass Guitar).
These students have worked hard for several months to prepare, practice and refine their performances in preparation for the State Contest!
They are lead by Devine ISD Director of Bands, Jeff. W. Miller, BME, MM and Assistant Directors Tom Settles and James Quintero.
Last year 2020, Devine qualified a 5 piece percussion ensemble (Pauline Calame, Andrea Sanchez, Caleb Martin, Jacob Guajardo, Analea Brooks and Michael Cubriel) but didn’t get to compete due to the Covid shutdown statewide. None of the State qualifiers got to compete in 2020 including Josephine Taitano (flute solo), and a Clarinet Trio of Clarissa Maldonado, Madilynne Mohr, and Skyler Montoya.

Zoom to see these deals or tap or click for more from Chaparral Ford!