Deadline to file for Devine Mayor, Council seats this Friday

Six Devine residents had filed to run for either Mayor or a Council position as of press time on Tuesday, February 11.
The deadline to file is this Friday, Feb. 14. Application packets are available from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm at City Hall, located at 303 S. Teel.
Election Day is Saturday, May 2.
Incumbents David Espinosa and Debra Randall are running to retain their respective positions as District 3 and District 5 representatives, as is Mayor Cory Thompson.
Elmon Ohlhausen is challenging Espinosa in District 3.
Rufino Vega filed to run for the vacant District 1 seat, while Richard Covarrubia, Jr., filed for the vacant District 4 seat.
Terms of office are for two years, and are staggered so that only three seats are up for election in a given year. However, since Thompson and Randall were appointed to their positions following resignations, the Mayor and District 5 seats join the District 1, 3, and 4 seats in this election cycle.
The winners of the mayoral and District 5 elections will serve for one year before those seats, along with the District 2 position currently held by Steve Lopez, are up for election again in May 2021.
Those elected to the District 1, 3, and 4 seats will serve the standard two-year term until the May 2022 election.
Only residents of a specific district are eligible to represent that district on City Council, while anyone living inside the City limits is eligible to be Mayor.
By Marly Davis
Staff Writer

Check out these deals from Brown Chevrolet and click to see more!
Zoom in or click to see more from Chaparral Ford!