Daughters of the Republic of Texas to attend CRT Convention June 21-22

Receiving their 25 years of continuous service certificate were Kay Anderson, Patricia Burrier, Roberta Himebrook, Elaine Nichols. Members not in attendance Ruby Brigman, Metche Franke, Quinna Hughs, Mary Lou Johnson, Benita Lane, Hollace Smith and Belinda Vanatta.

The May meeting of the Caddel-Smith Chapter of the Daughters of the Republic of Texas was called to order at 10:35 a.m. by President Kay Anderson. Twenty members and one guest were welcomed.
Jakelynn Crawford reported that the 2025 4th and 7th grade Texas History essay subjects are: 4th grade, ‘Juana Navarro Alsbury, Survivor of the Alamo’, and 7th grade subject, ‘Which site should be regarded as the Birthplace of the Republic of Texas: West Columbia, Washington-on-the-Brazos, or San Jacinto?’
Billie Nast, sponsor of the Children of the Republic of Texas, John Blanton II chapter, reported that they will be attending the CRT Convention in Waco on June 21-22, 2024. She has submitted award reports prior to the Convention which include; 2nd Vice President General’s Project consisting of squares of fabric with the Republic of Texas symbols and historic sites drawn on them. Twelve of our CRT members colored the quilt squares. Those members are Cole Almand, Edie Almand, Eloise Buescher, Mattie Mae Buescher, Catie Cerny, Alexis Long, Rinley Wernette, Griffin Wilson, and T.R. Wilson, along with Associate Members, Rand Redden, Adie Wilson and Johny Wilson.
The CRT Corresponding Secretary General’s Project was to draw and color…

TO CONTINUE READING…CLICK HERE or go to www.devinenewsmembers.com