Moore VFD participates in Wintergarden District Pumper Races

Members of the Moore VFD are (kneeling left to right): Abigail Earls, Justin Ross, Clifford Cantrell, Ashley Dodd, and Jonathan Craig. Standing (left to right): Summer Craig, Richard Hitchcock, Emberleigh Hitchcock, Linnet Hitchcock, JD Earls, Stephanie Earls, Christopher Earls, Monique Chacon, Troy Portis, and Kyle Dodd.

Moore VFD participated in the fall 2017 Wintergarden District Pumper races in Dilley on Sunday, Sept. 23. Continue reading “Moore VFD participates in Wintergarden District Pumper Races”

82-year-old  Man Indicted in Deaths of Bald Eagles

82-year-old  Man Indicted in Deaths of Bald Eagles

Faces Additional Charges for Allegedly Killing Vultures

Texaas Parks & Wildlife Press Release– A Lampasas County grand jury has returned an indictment against a Bend, Texas, man on two counts of killing bald eagles, a protected non-game animal. The 82-year-old man also faces additional charges alleging he captured and killed numerous other non-game birds, including black vultures and turkey vultures.

Continue reading “82-year-old  Man Indicted in Deaths of Bald Eagles”

Devine VFD elects new officers after resignations

New Devine VFD Board and Officers are: Sitting (l to r): Deputy Cheif Robert Scott, Fire Chief Michael Walker, Assistant Chief Christian Jones. Standing middle: Alex Rodriguez, Daniel Ehlinger, Heather Meeks, Austin Ehlinger, Vice President Nicholas Hughan, Treasurer Carla Walker, Stephanie Schroeder, Secretary Justine Hruzek, Emmalee Franz, Jessica Meeks, Charles Meeks Sr. Standing Back: Byron Hruzek, Cledith Ventura, Victor Chavez and Charles Meeks Jr. Not pictured President Mark Leach, Member at Large Daniel Thomas, Dana Francies and Hank Henrichson.

Devine Volunteer Fire Department elected new officers after the resignation of several top officers in August including Fire Chief Jason Johnson, Deputy Chief Steve Taichman and two others.
Continue reading “Devine VFD elects new officers after resignations”

Devine Homecoming Oct. 20-21

1966-67 Devine High School FUTURE FARMERS OF AMERICA (FFA) BOTTOM ROW: Mark Mitchell, Danny Wallace, George Crouch, Mike Dooley, John Kierum, Scott Irwin, Eddie Hagen, George Schott, Arnold Kierum, Wayne Kinard, Paul Irwin, Carl Lorentzon, Ramiro Garza, Jon Russel, Claude Morgan, Butch Campsey, Gene Bendele, Mike Carr. SECOND ROW: Rickie Savage, Clifford Ortiz, Jesse Benavides, George Compa, Louis Lopez, Roger Navarro, Louis Ehlinger, Monty Herring, (Officers in FFA jackets: Y.N. Strait, Rickie Campsey, Denny Moore, Sweetheart-Sherry Calame, Luke Mitchell, Mike Coyne), John Vance, Jimmy Wilkinson, Mark Schott, Frank White, John St. Ledger, Roger Patteson. THIRD ROW: Sponsor-Mr. Henry Moss, Byron Downing, Raul Salinas, Mike Mikes, Albert Mendoza, Mercedes Buentello, Benny Navarro, Felix Stone, Jimmy Lyles, James Rotramel, Russel Roberson, Rickie Smith, Lupe Valesquez, Ruben Pompa, Mike Schneider, Charles Hanson, Tom Beck, Jimmy Briscoe, Jimmy Potter Steve Irwin, Edward Whitwell, Sponsor-Mr. Leo Bohl. FOURTH ROW: Ramon Billalobos, Simon Campa, Saul Perez, Alfred Duncan, Gilbert Hernandez, Eddie Centilli, Peter De La Rosa, J.B. Pompa, Larry Smith, Lupe Jaramillo, Harris Harrell, Clarence Thomas, Heinze Mobley, George DuBose, Charles Schweitzer, Jimmy Centilli, Larry Park, Jimmy Capps, George Bendele, John Bain. FIFTH ROW: Danny Cruz, Raul Tijerina, Domingo Esparza, Gilbert Martin, tilford Davis, Xavier Silva, Corky Sadler, Mike Franks, Brian Long, Bob Woerndell, Joe Ricks, Jeffery Goslin, Shelton DuBose, Kenneth Rogers, Gary Stevens, David White, Fred Woerndell, Russell Ehlinger. SIXTH ROW: Fred Gallegos, Ronnie Savage, Lupe Benavides, Vincent Stehle, Dale Stehle, Arthur Pfeiffer, Andrew Morales, Chuck Bywaters, Chris Petri, Larry Freeman, Kenneth Wells, Brian Polk, Joe Ciavarra, Jerry Howard, Everett Moore.

All former students and teachers who attended school in Devine are invited to this year’s 2017 HOMECOMING EVENTS to be held on Friday and Saturday, October 20 & 21! Continue reading “Devine Homecoming Oct. 20-21”