15-3A DII runner-up Mustangs land 25 All-District spots; Manuel Garcia voted Defensive MVP

Twenty Natalia Mustang football players combined to earn 25 spots on the recently released District 15-3A DII All-District squad. Manuel Garcia nabbed a superlative recognition as the Defensive MVP.
Natalia finished 8-4 overall, including a 4-2 conference record. The Mustangs easily defeated Taft 35-7 in Bi-District before losing 10-8 to Riesel in their Area heartbreaker.
First-Team offensive honors went to six different senior Mustangs, including Garcia who made the team as the halfback. Quarterback Ryan Rizo, wide receivers Gabriel Perez and Nate Banda, running back Adrian Vasquez, and lineman Rocky Cruz all made First-Team.

Check out these deals and click or tap for more from Chaparral Ford!

Second-Team offense went to running backs Elijah Banda and Luis Buentello, halfback Devine Perez, wide receiver David Silva, and linemen Gaylen Garcia and Gerardo Colchado.
Those receiving Honorable Mention are lineman Alonzo Aguinaga, Xavier LaQue, and Tyler Taylor.
Voted First-Team defensively were repeat winners Nate Banda and Elijah Banda at linebacker and Perez at defensive end. Senior Chris Saldana landed a spot at defensive back and junior Austin Sutton made the team at defensive end.
Second-Team defense honors went to repeat winners Silva (defensive back), Vasquez (linebacker), and Gaylen Garcia (lineman). Sophomores Paul Zapata (defensive back) and Gerardo Colchado (line) made the second unit along with defensive back Jaieden Burford.
Honorable Mention defense were Rene Velasquez (linebacker), Josh San Miguel (defensive back), and Tyler Taylor (line).
By Jerel Beaty
Staff Writer