Warhorses land 19 players on All-District teams

Nineteen Warhorses were named to All-District teams.

With each of the four playoff-qualifying teams from District 14-4A Division 2 now eliminated from the state playoffs, each squad was able to release All-District selections to the players and the public.
The Warhorses had 19 different players earn 25 spots on 1st Team, 2nd Team, Special Teams, or Honorable Mention. Junior running back Grant Collins earned 1st Team along with Matthew Ornelas (senior, fullback), Noah Brogdon (senior, receiver), and Jayce Hackebeil (sophomore, tight end).
First Team defense was awarded to Tristan Ortiz (junior, tackle), Steven “Bulldog” Ramirez (senior, inside linebacker), Ornelas (outside linebacker), and Chase DuBose (senior, defensive back).
Players earning 2nd Team offense were Justin Contreras (freshman, receiver), Christian Arredondo (senior, center), Ortiz (guard), Marques Burford-Zawahreh (tackle), Luke Torres (senior, utility), and DuBose (receiver).
Second Team defensive players were Reagan Brown (junior, nose guard), Juan Sic (senior, tackle), Payton Anderson (senior, outside linebacker), and Hackebeil (defensive end).
Special Teams recognition went to Collins as a 1st Team punter and to senior Alvaro Blasco as the 2nd Team kicker.
Honorable Mention acknowledgement was bestowed upon Ramirez (offensive guard), Contreras (safety), Leonard Pompa (sophomore, inside linebacker), Isaiah Oropeza (sophomore, defensive back), and Kyler Brown (senior, receiver).
District Superlatives
The district’s overall MVP went to Crystal City’s Austin Sanchez. Co-Offensive MVPs were Oscar Cubriel (Pearsall) and David Patino (Crystal City). Pearsall’s Carson Neal was voted Defensive MVP while Co-Newcomer of the Year went to Roderick King (Poteet) and John Saucedo (Crystal City).
By Jerel Beaty
Staff Writer