Warhorses claim 35 All-District spots on 15-4A DII team

The Devine Warhorses and the rest of District 15-4A DII season’s ended in the bi-district round of the 2021 playoffs last week meaning All-District recognitions can be officially released to the public.
Devine had 19 different players earn 35 spots on one of the three teams, including first team, second team, and honorable mention.
In a rarity, Warhorse freshman Carter Faubel was honored as the Offensive Newcomer of the Year. This award is typically given to a running back or quarterback who has put together outstanding offensive statistics.
Faubel, however, was recognized for his ability to be a game-changer on the line of scrimmage as the Warhorses rushed for 3,511 yards and passed for another 1,198. His run-blocking and pass protection was invaluable to Devine accumulating those types of yardages.
First-team offensive recognition went to quarterback Brady Hackebeil, running back Ethan Santos (Wildcard), fullback Hayden DuBose, tight end Mason Martinez, guard Logan Camarillo, and tackle Jared Fernandez. Camarillo and Fernandez were unanimous selections.
Gaining second team offensive honors was running back Gabriel Esquibel, tight end Peyton Carr, tackle Hadyn Brumage, and wide receiver Xavier Contreras.
First-team unanimous selections voted by the district coaches were Hackebeil at safety, Martinez at inside linebacker, and Fernandez at defensive end. Other first team defensive players were Santos at cornerback and Brumage at tackle.
Second-team defensive recognition went to safety Esquibel, cornerback Samuel Guardiola, outside linebacker Brandon Martinez, defensive end DuBose, and tackle Kolt Hackebeil.
Special team awards went to Carr as the unanimous first-team punter and Nate Ramirez as the unanimous first team punt returner. Luke Friesenhahn was tabbed as second-team kicker.
Ten Warhorses were named on the Honorable Mention teams as offensive recognition went to wide receivers Nate Ramirez and Aiden Zapata, tight end Friesenhahn, and fullback Marcus Rodriguez. Defensively, Nate Ramirez at safety, Kannon Ramirez at defensive end, Zach Martinez at tackle, Contreras at cornerback, and outside linebackers Friesenhahn and Rodriguez also made the honorable mention squad.
Congratulations to all Warhorse players on a memorable 2021 season!
By Jerel Beaty
Staff Writer