SPLISH SPLASH PIRATES TEAM CHAMPS IN CORPUS! Sanchez, Alvarez, Montes-Rodriguez, Reyna, & Obando make a statement

Jerel Beaty-Staff Writer
The Pirate Cross Country team made a huge statement to all of Region IV 3A Saturday at Texas A&M University Corpus Christi by winning the Islander Splash. Abel Sanchez, Johnny Rey Alvarez, Bryan Montes-Rodriguez, Diego Reyna, and Brandon Obando took five of the top 16 spots that included a field of 335 competitors.Lytle scored 50 points to earn that top spot followed by runner up Boerne who finished with 74 points and a distant third place La Vernia squad who amassed 159 points.

“Two of our top five did not run on Saturday but still managed to win the Med/Small Boys 5K. They ran the last race during the hottest time but still managed to get 4 in the top 15,” said Head Coach Gilbert Ruiz.
“The team will be split up this week as the varsity will head to Round Rock on Friday morning for the HOKA/McNeil Invitational. It will be our last BIG test as the boys will run early in the 4A Division (8:30am) against we hope the #2, 3, 5, 6, 7 and #10 teams in 4A. The JV and JH will run on Saturday at the River City Invitational.”
Sanchez and Alvarez ran amazing races as they finished 4th and 6th respectively. Sanchez’s 5K was accomplished in 17:17 while Alvarez came in at 17:23.
Montes-Rodriguez and Reyna finished in the top 15. Montes-Rodriguez finished 11th with a time of 18:00 and Reyna came in 13th with a time of 18:11.
Brandon Obando was the last point-scorer for the Pirates as he came in 16th with a time of 18:16.
Nathan Garza and Jaden Castro finished in the top third of the competition as Garza was 67th and Castro 83rd. Garza ran 20:02 while Castro came in at 20:38.
Andres Rodriguez (103rd-21:01), Daniel Mercado (111th-21:16), and Kaden Aguinaga (115th-21:25) also got a chance to compete at the site of October’s regional meet.
Team rankings (Top 10)
1st Lytle 50, 2nd Boerne 74, 3rd La Vernia 159, 4th Kingsville King 198, 5th Progreso 220, 6th IDEA Frontier Brownsville 234, 7th Mathis 251, 8th Luling 269, 9th Gonzales 281, 10th Altair Rice 305