PRICELESS!! Lady Pirate XC STATE BOUND for 1st time in school history

“PRICELESS!!” That was the headline of the email first sent by Head Coach Gilbert Ruiz as his Lady Pirate Cross Country team advanced to State for the first time in school history. Natalie Wiliams, Eisabel Guerrero, Moriah Gomez, Marissa Lopez, Samantha Mujica, Jadyn Boroquez, and Dezmarie Ortega will forever be linked by this amazing accomplishment.
“All the hard work this summer definitely paid off! BUT WE ARE NOT DONE YET!’ stated an exuberant Ruiz. “And congrats to the girls also for overcoming injuries. It was also their first time running all together this season. What a day!!!!!”
Junior Natalie Wiliams led the Lady Pirates with a 13:02 two-mile time. Williams placed 16th of 179 runners.
Junior Eisabel Guerrero ran 13:20. Guerrero came in 15th.
Junior Moriah Gomez came in 19th. Gomez ran 13:34.
Junior Marissa Lopez came in at 13:38. Lopez placed just out of the top 20 at 21st place.
Sophomore Samantha Mujica came in 29th. Mujica ran 13:49 as the last of the top five that scored points for the Lady Pirates.
Junior Jadyn Bojorquez ran 13:54. Bojorquez placed 33rd.
Junior Dezmarie Ortega, like the rest of her teammates, ran a sub-14-minute race finishing in 13:59. Ortega placed 35th.
Congratulations to Coach Ruiz, Coach Hadley Foster, and the entire Lady Pirate Cross Country team! Best of luck at State!

Check out these deals and click or tap for more from Chaparral Ford!

Top 10 teams
1 TEAM CHAMPION LYTLE 75, 2 Poth 86, 3 Yoakum 108, 4 Vanderbilt Industrial 137, 5 Great Hearts Northern Oaks 206, 6 San Antonio Cole 221, 7 Hallettsville 248, 8 IDEA Pharr 256, 9 Skidmore-Tynan 262, 10 Llano 279.
Top 21 individual
1 Kate Simmons-Vanderbilt Industrial 12:24, 2 Faith Cruz-Vanguard Rembrandt, 3 Aly Wray-Lago Vista 12:35, 4 Addie Ellis-Poth 12:58, 5 Yaneli Aguilar-Skidmore Tynan 12:59, 6 Natalie Williams-Lytle 13:02, 7 Gisela Martinez-Yoakum 13:04, 8 Kora Rocha-Poth 13:08.14, 9 Audrey Felux-Poth-13:08.37, 10 Olivia Etzler-Hallettsville 13:08.57, 11 Jaela Smith-Universal City Randolph 13:08.64, 12 Emilee Sturgeon-Skidmore Tynan 13:12, 13 Brooklyn Berger-Yoakum 13:13, 14 Makenna Rumbo-Ingram Moore 13:17, 15 Eisabel Guerrero-Lytle 13:20, 16 Naomi Cotero-IDEA Pharr 13:26, 17 Alexandra Alcott-Great Hearts Northern Oaks 13:29, 18 Sophia Bendet-Universal City Randolph 13:33, 19 Moriah Gomez-Lytle 13:38, 20 Chloe Rodriguez-Dilley 13:34, 21 Marissa Lopez-Lytle 13:38.
By Jerel Beaty
Staff Writer