Mayor Thompson wins by 22 votes, Randall re-elected, Pichardo wins District 2 race

Incumbents Cory Thompson and Debra Randall and newcomer Angela Pichardo won two-year terms on the Devine City Council in the General Election held Saturday, May 1.
Thompson came out on top in a close mayoral race, garnering 229 votes to 207 cast for opponent Kevin Hicks for a 22-vote win.
Randall was re-elected to the District 5 spot, defeating opponent Kevin Stephens 128 to 73, a difference of 55 votes.
Pichardo won a tight matchup for the District 2 seat being vacated by outgoing councilman Steve Lopez, receiving 32 votes to opponent Maria Pena’s 18 for a 14-vote victory.
Election results are unofficial until they are canvassed.
The next Regular Council meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, May 18.
By Marly Davis
Staff Writer

Click or tap for more great deals!