Devine History….City budgets 1940 v 2016

We found a copy of this City Budget from the year 1939-1940 in our old files, and thought you’d enjoy!  Compare it to more recent financial trends in 2016.

A lot changes in 60 years….Administrative expenses, for example, went from $300 in 1940 to over $319,000 in 2016.

Here is the 1939-1940 City of Devine Budget


Here is a summary of some of the City’s expenses over the past 5 years, from one of their Financial Trends reports:

Devine VFD elects new officers after resignations

New Devine VFD Board and Officers are: Sitting (l to r): Deputy Cheif Robert Scott, Fire Chief Michael Walker, Assistant Chief Christian Jones. Standing middle: Alex Rodriguez, Daniel Ehlinger, Heather Meeks, Austin Ehlinger, Vice President Nicholas Hughan, Treasurer Carla Walker, Stephanie Schroeder, Secretary Justine Hruzek, Emmalee Franz, Jessica Meeks, Charles Meeks Sr. Standing Back: Byron Hruzek, Cledith Ventura, Victor Chavez and Charles Meeks Jr. Not pictured President Mark Leach, Member at Large Daniel Thomas, Dana Francies and Hank Henrichson.

Devine Volunteer Fire Department elected new officers after the resignation of several top officers in August including Fire Chief Jason Johnson, Deputy Chief Steve Taichman and two others.
Continue reading “Devine VFD elects new officers after resignations”

Devine Homecoming Oct. 20-21

1966-67 Devine High School FUTURE FARMERS OF AMERICA (FFA) BOTTOM ROW: Mark Mitchell, Danny Wallace, George Crouch, Mike Dooley, John Kierum, Scott Irwin, Eddie Hagen, George Schott, Arnold Kierum, Wayne Kinard, Paul Irwin, Carl Lorentzon, Ramiro Garza, Jon Russel, Claude Morgan, Butch Campsey, Gene Bendele, Mike Carr. SECOND ROW: Rickie Savage, Clifford Ortiz, Jesse Benavides, George Compa, Louis Lopez, Roger Navarro, Louis Ehlinger, Monty Herring, (Officers in FFA jackets: Y.N. Strait, Rickie Campsey, Denny Moore, Sweetheart-Sherry Calame, Luke Mitchell, Mike Coyne), John Vance, Jimmy Wilkinson, Mark Schott, Frank White, John St. Ledger, Roger Patteson. THIRD ROW: Sponsor-Mr. Henry Moss, Byron Downing, Raul Salinas, Mike Mikes, Albert Mendoza, Mercedes Buentello, Benny Navarro, Felix Stone, Jimmy Lyles, James Rotramel, Russel Roberson, Rickie Smith, Lupe Valesquez, Ruben Pompa, Mike Schneider, Charles Hanson, Tom Beck, Jimmy Briscoe, Jimmy Potter Steve Irwin, Edward Whitwell, Sponsor-Mr. Leo Bohl. FOURTH ROW: Ramon Billalobos, Simon Campa, Saul Perez, Alfred Duncan, Gilbert Hernandez, Eddie Centilli, Peter De La Rosa, J.B. Pompa, Larry Smith, Lupe Jaramillo, Harris Harrell, Clarence Thomas, Heinze Mobley, George DuBose, Charles Schweitzer, Jimmy Centilli, Larry Park, Jimmy Capps, George Bendele, John Bain. FIFTH ROW: Danny Cruz, Raul Tijerina, Domingo Esparza, Gilbert Martin, tilford Davis, Xavier Silva, Corky Sadler, Mike Franks, Brian Long, Bob Woerndell, Joe Ricks, Jeffery Goslin, Shelton DuBose, Kenneth Rogers, Gary Stevens, David White, Fred Woerndell, Russell Ehlinger. SIXTH ROW: Fred Gallegos, Ronnie Savage, Lupe Benavides, Vincent Stehle, Dale Stehle, Arthur Pfeiffer, Andrew Morales, Chuck Bywaters, Chris Petri, Larry Freeman, Kenneth Wells, Brian Polk, Joe Ciavarra, Jerry Howard, Everett Moore.

All former students and teachers who attended school in Devine are invited to this year’s 2017 HOMECOMING EVENTS to be held on Friday and Saturday, October 20 & 21! Continue reading “Devine Homecoming Oct. 20-21”